Manitobans in Professional and College Baseball

Each year Baseball Manitoba Staff tracks elite players from our Province, as they achieve their Professional and Collegiate Baseball goals. 

Please help us track our players by sending us information on players not currently on this list, using this ONLINE SUBMISSION FORM.

Professional Players (Current)

Ben Onyshko

Minor Baseball: Winnipeg South Chiefs

Pro Team(s): Seattle Mariners (Single A)

Collegiate Career: Stetson University (Div I)

Tristan Peters

Minor Baseball: Winkler/South Central

Pro Team(s): Tampa Bay Rays (Drafted in the 7th round 2021 to the Milwaukee Brewers)

Collegiate Career: Southern Illinois (D1)

Marc-Andre Habeck

Minor Baseball: Bonivital Blacksox

Pro Team(s): Parmaclima (Italie - Serie A)

Collegiate Career: Frank Phillips (JC) and Georgia State (Div I)

For a complete listing of Canadians in Professional Baseball, visit and subscribe to the Canadian Baseball Network

College Players

Aiden Newton (Winnipeg) - University of Calgary (AB, Canada)

Evan Ducharme (Winnipeg) - University of Calgary (AB, Canada)

Ethan Minaker (Winnipeg) - Barton Community College (NJCAA Div I)

Tyson Vassart (La Salle) - Hutchinson Community College (NCAA Div II)

Colson Smith (St Andrews) - South Suburban College (Div I)

Landon Gudnason (Glenboro) - Okanagan College (BC, Canada)

Alex Cooney (Winnipeg) - University of Calgary (AB, Canada)

Daegan Morcom (Bonivital) - McCook Community College (JC Div I)

Kalli Einarson (Interlake) - University of Calgary (AB, Canada)

Riley Craw (Winnipeg) - Lake Region State University (Div II)

Rylan Penner (Blumenort) - Williston State University (JC Div II)

Tyler Smith (St. Andrews) - Williston State University (JC Div II)

Drew Vassart (La Salle) - Thompson Rivers University (BC, Canada)

Donavan Collier (Winnipeg) - Thompson Rivers University (BC, Canada)

Kasyn Sawisky (La Salle) - Thompson Rivers University (BC, Canada)

Elie Feierstein (Winnipeg) - Western University (Ontario, Canada)

Trent Peters (Clearwater) - Jamestown (NAIA)

Jordan Peck (St. James) - Northwest Missouri State (Div II)

Jared McCorrister (Boissevain) - Mayville State (NAIA)

Connor Cory (Wawanesa) - Mayville State (NAIA)

Matt Johnson (Cypress River) - Mayville State (NAIA)

Noah Geekie (Strathclair) - Emporia State University (NCAA Div II)

Billy Patmore (Pipestone) - Dakota College - Bottineau (JC Div II)

Jesse Skelton (Hartney) - Dakota College - Bottineau (JC Div II)

Tanner Clyne (Boissevain) - Dakota College - Bottineau (JC Div II)

Tyson Pringle (Boissevain) - Dakota College - Bottineau (JC Div II)

Logan Warkentin (Winnipeg) - Williston State College (JC Div II) recently signed for 2022/23 with Morningside University (NAIA)

Tanner Boyle (Portage) - Mayville State College (NCAA Div II)

For a complete listing of Canadians in College Baseball, visit and subscribe to the Canadian Baseball Network

Former Professional Players 

Chris Shaw

Hometown: Winnipeg

Team: Baltimore Orioles (Single A) (2015-2019)

Ryan Johnson

Hometown: Winnipeg (St. James) 

Team: Winnipeg Goldeyes (2019)

Corey Koskie

Hometown: Anola

Teams: Minnesota Twins (MLB) and Toronto Blue Jays (MLB) (1998-2006)

Blaine Fortin

Hometown: Lundar

Teams: Toronto Blue Jays (Single A) and Winnipeg Goldeyes (1999)

Troy Fortin

Hometown: Lundar

Teams: Minnesota Twins - Double A and Winnipeg Goldeyes (1993-1998)

Donnie Smith

Hometown: St. Andrews

Teams: Winnipeg Goldeyes (1998-2006)

Andrew Halpenny

Hometown: Brandon

Teams: Winnipeg Goldeyes (1995)

Cam Biberdorf

Hometown: Edwin

Teams: Los Angeles Dodgers - Double A (1988-1991)

Claude Lambert

Hometown: St. Laurent

Teams: Houston Astros - Single A (1965-1967)

Bud Sketchley

Hometown: Virden

Teams: Chicago White Sox (1942)

John (Mel) Kerr

Hometown: Souris

Teams: Chicago Cubs (1925)

Russ Ford

Hometown: Brandon

Teams: New York Highlanders (1909-1915)

All-American Girls Professional Baseball League (1943-1954)

Martha Rommelaere (Deloraine)

Doris Barr (Starbuck)

Dottie Hunter (Winnipeg)

Eleanor Callow (Winnipeg)

Audrey Haine (Winnipeg)

Olive Little (Poplar Point)

Evelyn Wawryshyn (Tyndall)

Yolande Schick (St. Vital)